Skip to content

Hello world! Is there anybody there?

January 7, 2010

“Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!”

You know, I’ve read about the Hello World! thing. According to the Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (or http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2 if you like) it’s the first thing people try and display on a monitor when they are learning a new programming language. I like it, it’s simple and it’s cheerful. For more info on this tradition go to http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/brunel/A32016692 .

Obviously the first line of this post is the line they give you automatically when you create a blog on here. I decided to keep it. Even if a welcome is automatically generated it’s still a welcome, and who are we to say that machines cannot be as welcoming as everyone else. Plus it means that someone programmed that welcome in, which is nice too. And now, in the spirit of welcoming, let me welcome you to my new blog! I filled in an info box about thoughts I have and sharing them when I was setting this up, but I’m not quite sure where it’s gone because it’s not on the blog page. I’ll go find it in a minute and post it where I thought it was going to go so you can see the inspiration for this new blog. And obviously by ‘inspiration’ I mean ‘nice fluffy bit of wording to introduce you to how random the inside of my head is’. Not the literal inside of my head though. I imagine that to look squishy and red, and not something I really want people to be enquiring into. Anyhoo, that’s probably enough randomness for the moment. When I’ve found my little info blurb and posted it I’ll be able to say I warned you about being random. Until then just imagine that I have.

I decided to call my blog ‘Musings of the Terminally Distracted’* because, aside from not being able to think of anything more witty (is wittier a word? It should be!), it’s completely true. I’m in a library surrounded by work that’s not being done so I decided that it was time to start the blog that I’ve been meaning to start for a while, and I named it after its own conception, in a manner of speaking. For a first post this hasn’t been too hard either, I just pointed and typed. It’s quite fun actually, try it some time.

And now I must leave you. I know from experience that when I’m on a roll like this it’s hard to stop myself, so I just need to hit ‘send’ (or whatever the equivalent is on a blog) and be done with it before I bore people, and I also know from the intense cold of where I’m sitting that the window next to me isn’t double glazed, which in early January I’m seeing as a flaw. Hmm…

I hope you made it to the end of this post and weren’t too utterly bored. If you were then I can only apologize, and if you weren’t I can hopefully offer you more of the same to come, though maybe with a little more structure. I’ll update blog this as and when I write stuff to put on it, and I may post some old musings I’ve got floating around my hard drive as well. Come back soon. Bye bye for now.

*It’s not called this anymore. I’m jigging around with new names and appearances to see what I like. So far it’s going ok but I’m still working on it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 6:44 pm

    “Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.”

    An automatic comment. How thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

