Skip to content

Arguments used by people who don’t like homosexuality

March 21, 2010

This is something that was on my mind the other day and I thought about blogging about. Now I am. Makes sense, yes?

A few weeks ago I got an email from someone doing Journalism at Cardiff Uni. I’m on the committee for the lgbt society there and they wanted my opinion on the news that Christian Voice had lashed out at Gareth Thomas for ‘promoting sodomy to children’ as he had just became the face of the ‘SchoolsOut‘ campaign. She said my views wouldn’t be published anywhere and only her tutors and fellow students would see her finished article, so I obliged with a sort of double opinion, half given as a committee member and half given as just me and my personal views. It was all very civil, using phrases like ‘potentially damaging’ and ‘it seems at best unwise…at worst…ignorant’. A very academic reply, if you will.

The thing is, I assumed this story was made up. She’d said it wouldn’t be published, and I’d heard nothing about it on the regular news, so I assumed she was writing a generic reaction piece and had made up the Christian Voice attack. I also assumed this for the simple reason that I didn’t think that sort of attack would have happened. It sounded too… well, too stupid, to put it bluntly. “Anti-bullying campaign promotes sodomy”. Yeah, pull the other one. No-one would claim that, I thought. I said so too in a later reply. How wrong I was. I’d not heard of Christian Voice before, but if I had I reckon I’d have been less civil in the quote I gave this girl.

This Christian Voice issue happened about a month ago, but recently I was reminded of it by something I saw on Twitter. I can’t remember who posted it, but there was a link to a Telegraph article entitled ‘Gay Dutch soldiers responsible for Srebrenica massacre says US general’. Apparently a US general, in a speech against the reform of the controversial ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ policy (‘DADT’) in the US military, made the claim that liberal social influences, including letting homosexuals into the Dutch military, had weakened said military and resulted in the Srebrenica massacre (reported as one of the worst massacres since WWII). Apparently this is one ‘reason’ (I use the term loosely) for not repealing ‘DADT’ or allowing homosexuals to fight in the US military without having to hide their sexuality.

Now, I don’t want to get into discussion of the issues surrounding ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ because I don’t know enough about it (though I would urge you to read the Telegraph article, particularly the bit about ex-soldier Michael Almy and what he has to say about DADT). The point of this article is to voice my increasing surprise at the sort of arguments that are employed by those who don’t like homosexuality. That’s the nub of the issue: they don’t like it, and they find any reason they can to back up their view. Call it means-to-an-end arguing. Their conclusion is already written and they’re just looking for a few examples to shoehorn in before it to make it look credible. This sort of reasoning is pretty rubbish most of the time and won’t get you very far in exams or in the boardroom, so why people think it’ll work in politically sensitive debates before mass audiences is beyond me. All they’re achieving is making themselves look unintelligent, if I’m being civil about it, or like complete f***tard w***ers if I’m not.

On top of this, unreasonable minorities like Christian Voice, or the Westboro Baptist Church in the US (can’t believe I didn’t think of them sooner, what an apt example of narrow-minded b***s***-peddling) can make the communities to which they belong (here Christians, in the ‘DADT’ case the US Military or Americans in general) look as bad as they do. Don’t get me wrong, I like Christians. The ones who do it properly are lovely people. And although I know hardly any Americans I’m sure they can be perfectly lovely people too. The problem is that the crazy fundamentalists tend to be the ones who attract attention and give the others bad press, especially when they make ill-advised, ‘potentially damaging’ or just plain ignorant comments on sensitive issues like homosexuality.

I’m not saying everyone has to love everything. They don’t, and if they did the world would be incredibly boring. But if you are going to speak out against something then please don’t be a d*** about it. No-one’ll take you seriously if you do.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Speed permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:29 am

    I love the quote in that article: “When we do black history month we don’t turn all our kids black.”

    Good point!

Leave a Reply

