Skip to content

Florence + the Machine, Coopers field, Cardiff

June 10, 2010

I’ve not been to a huge number of live music performances but the Florence + the Machine gig that I’ve just come from was one of the best things I’ve ever seen, ever. The only other performance I can remember that was that good was Lost Prophets at Reading Festival ’09 (one of my best highs ever I might add). For a band who’ve only really been in the limelight for about 2 years or so (probably less in fact) they’re going from strength to strength in a massive way and I’m properly excited about the forthcoming second album. This lot are definitely a force to be reckoned with!

Florence Welch absolutely dominated that stage when she was performing tonight. Her persona when she sings just exudes raw animalistic energy, and her voice is nothing short of a force of nature, it’s just incredible! Even more-so in fact because of the contrast between her singing voice and her normal bubbly, almost delicate speaking voice. If you’d only ever heard her speak you’d never think that she could belt out You’ve Got The Love the way she does, but my god she’s good. The set list was good too, all of the album tracks were there as well as a new song from the second album that sounded extremely promising. Not sure what it was called but I think she said it was something to do with atoms. Or curtains, we weren’t sure. The only omission from the set-list was Hurricane Drunk, which I’d like to have heard live, but the rest of the tracks more than made up for this omission, particularly Dog Days Are Over (one of my favourites) and the Drumming song, both of which were superb! Florence definitely knows how to get a crowd going and she and her band were excellent throughout. As live performances go I’d struggle to find any faults with tonight, and if you ever get the chance to go and see Florence + the Machine live then I’d urge you to do it, you will not be disappointed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

